Skip to Content

Board of Regents

The TLU Board of Regents is the policy making body in the governance structure of the university.

About TLU's Board of Regents

The board consists of 28 members, all elected by the TLU Corporation Board. The board meets four times annually and works closely with the President's Cabinet. The board’s executive committee includes the chair, vice chair, secretary, treasurer, and three at-large members.

Current Members

    • Mike Appling, Consultant, Houston
    • The Rev. Barb Bartling, senior pastor, Holy Comforter Church, Kingwood
    • Rhonda Calvert, San Antonio market president, Comerica Bank, San Antonio
    • Derek Cantu, nurse manager, Methodist Hospital, Boerne
    • Tony Canty, executive vice president, Labatt Food Service, San Antonio
    • Dan Church, director, D & S Church Investments, The Woodlands
    • The Rev. Michael Coffey, ELCA pastor, Austin
    • Kathy Collins, retired chief financial officer, Rice University, Houston
    • Jessie Everline, hospital administrator, Baylor Scott & White Health, Austin
    • Irene Garza, superintendent, Taft ISD, Seguin
    • Ilene Gohmert-Leck, treasurer,Ilene B. Gohmert, CPA, Cuero
    • Karen Kegg, non-profit consultant, Lee & Associates, Austin
    • Charley Kitzman, first vice president, wealth management, The Kitzman Group., Houston
    • Gary Kolkhorst, Managing Partner, Kolkhorst & Kolkhorst CPA, Houston
    • Richard Manske, retired attorney, El Campo
    • Robin Melvin, retired attorney, Austin
    • Luis J. Moreno, chief of staff, Texas State Senator Juan Hinojosa, Austin
    • The Rev. Kendra Mohn, lead pastor, Trinity Lutheran Church, Fort Worth
    • Laura O’Donnell, attorney, Haynes and Boone, LLP, San Antonio
    • Robert L. Oliver, chair, retired founder/manager, Metano Energy, San Antonio
    • Gary Riske, retired, vice president – Global eCommerce Audit Services with Walmart eCommerce, Sunnyvale, CA.
    • The Rev. Dr. Steve Rode, secretary, retired ELCA pastor, Boerne
    • Jennifer Sanders, anchor and reporter, KXAN-TV, Austin
    • Dave Sather, president, Sather Financial Group, Victoria
    • Gary Valdez, president, Focus Strategies LLC, Austin
    • Mike Washington, vice chair, associate director of admissions, University of Texas at Austin, Cedar Park
    • Brad Webb, retired lieutenant general, U.S. Air Force, Seguin
    • Mark Whitt, president, Tenaska Marketing Ventures, Omaha, NE