Skip to Content

Texas Lutheran University Rank and Tenure Updates

Texas Lutheran University’s Board of Regents met February 14 to 16, and have approved a round of rank and tenure recommendations. Our newest tenured professors are Dr. Shirley Bleidt, Education, and Dr. Donna Kubena, Education. Tenure was also approved along with promotion to associate professor to Dr. Lauren Shook, English.

Dr. Steve Boehm, Sociology; Professor Kyle Olson, Visual Arts; and University Librarian Mark Dibble were all promoted to the rank of Full Professor.

Meanwhile, Dr. Danielle Grove, Biology, is the first-time appointee to the Harold and Charlene Foerster Biology Chair. Dr. Alison Bray has been appointed as Adolph L. Krause Professorship in Natural Sciences Chair. Dr. Anthony Mitchell, Accounting, has been given the Leif Johnson Professorship in Business Administration. Dr. Erika Short, Kinesiology, has received the Kieffer Kinesiology Fellowship. And Dr. Fernando Varela, Spanish, has been awarded the Verner Gembler Fellowship.

“These faculty have displayed an excellent commitment to their discipline, teaching, scholarly work, and to the students at TLU,” says Vice President for Academic Affairs Sarah Ferguson. “We are proud to celebrate their achievements.”