Skip to Content

STEM Majors Awarded Scholarships From Society Of Physics Students

Physics majors Nwankwo Ikechi-Kanu Nwankwo, Matthew Macasadia, and Jason Williams were each awarded $2,000 AIP-SPS Emergency Scholarships from the Society Of Physics Students. Established by SPS, the American Institute of Physics (AIP), and donors, the scholarship provides relief funding for students impacted negatively by the COVID-19 pandemic.

With many impacted during the 2019-2020 academic year and future implications likely, many undergraduate physics and astronomy students have been displaced, lost employment, had summer internship opportunities become unavailable, or need financial assistance to continue their studies.

To help alleviate these potential hardships and ensure that undergraduate physics and astronomy students can continue their studies, SPS asked students to submit a letter and application about their need-based support as an undergraduate negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Based on their letters and exemplary academic performance, Nwankwo, Macasadia, and Williams were all selected.

More About TLU SPS

TLU's SPS chapter has received ongoing recognition as an Outstanding Chapter Award for five consecutive years. The chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 15 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

Throughout the last two years, the TLU SPS chapter was recognized as outstanding for many efforts including numerous National Council Awards:

  • Elected Associate Zone Councilor for Zone 13 (All of Texas): Wade Cookston, TLU SPS Vice President
  • Herbert Levy Memorial Scholarship Recipient: Roel Olvera
  • SPS Leadership Scholarship: Matthew Macasadia

Additionally, alumna and former SPS Officer Emily Churchman '19 was also named a finalist for the American Physical Society's Apker Award.

More About SPS

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.