Skip to Content

Society Of Physics Students Once Again Named an Outstanding Chapter

For a sixth consecutive year the SPS National Council has nationally recognized TLU;s Society of Physics Students (SPS) as an Outstanding Chapter—the highest level of distinction given to university chapters. TLU Physics students will also be featured in the winter issue of the SPS Observer.

SPS—a professional association designed to help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community—only awards this honor to just 15 percent of its chapters. TLU SPS is led by Physics Department Chair Dr. Toni Sauncy and student officers Roel Olvera, Nolan Tenpas, Marcella Juarez, and Johari Dramiga.

“I know the school year is very full but, from personal experience, I can attest that when an SPS chapter is thriving and integrated into the department environment, it is often a sign of an advisor who is committed and actively engaged with their students,” said Brad R. Conrad, director of SPS and Sigma Pi Sigma. “To be named an Outstanding Chapter is a testament to Dr. Sauncy’s leadership skills and her ability to foster leadership among students.”

More about The Society of Physics Students

With more than 840 chapters nationwide, SPS is an organization of the American Institute Of Physics that evaluates university groups on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”