Skip to Content

Society of Physics Students Named Outstanding Chapter for Fifth Consecutive Year

The Texas Lutheran University chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the fifth consecutive year the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 15 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

TLU SPS Members:

  • Gordon Bonilla
  • Heather Perkovich
  • Jason Williams
  • Jeremiah Muehlbrad
  • Johari Dramiga
  • Marcus Johnson
  • Matthew Macasadia
  • Nolan Tenpas
  • Nwankwo Nwankwo
  • Paris Foster
  • Roel Olvera
  • Wade Cookston

Faculty: Dr. Toni Sauncy, Dr. Calvin J Berggren, and Dr. Josh Fuchs.

"We at the SPS National Office want to take this opportunity to commend and applaud TLU for their tireless efforts to enrich the SPS community," SPS and Sigma Pi Sigma National Director Dr. Brad. R. Conrad said. "It is because of their dedication and commitment to the SPS mission and vision that we are able to foster such a strong SPS community."

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

Throughout the last year, the TLU SPS chapter was recognized as outstanding for many efforts including numerous National Council Awards:

  • Elected Associate Zone Councilor for Zone 13 (All of Texas): Wade Cookston, TLU SPS Vice President
  • Herbert Levy Memorial Scholarship Recipient: Roel Olvera
  • SPS Leadership Scholarship: Matthew Macasadia

Additionally, alumna and former SPS Officer Emily Churchman '19 was also named a finalist for the American Physical Society's Apker Award.

Contact Us

Do you have a question? Get in touch.