TLU alumnus Verne Lundquist receives CoSIDA’s Jake Wade Award

June 15, 2015

News Image

Texas Lutheran alumnus and CBS Sports broadcaster Verne Lundquist is the 2015 recipient of the Jake Wade Award as presented by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). 

Lundquist received the award for his outstanding media contributions to the field of intercollegiate athletics. 

Lundquist was presented the award Monday at the CoSIDA Annual Convention. He could not accept the award in person, but he sent along a recorded video message that was played at the awards luncheon. 

Previous Wade Award winners have included last year's recipient Beth Mowins (ESPN); Lee Corso (ABC/ESPN, 2011); Tim Brando (CBS Sports, 2009); Christine Brennan (USA Today, 2003); Robin Roberts (ABC/ESPN, 2002); Dick Vitale (ESPN, 2001); Dave Anderson (New York Times, 1992); Dick Enberg (NBC-TV, 1989); and Dave Campbell (1986, Waco Tribune-Herald).

Lundquist graduated from Texas Lutheran in 1962 and received TLU's Distinguished Alumnus Award. He is also a member of the TLU Athletics Wall of Honor. In 2009 Lundquist became a member of TLU's Board of Regents.

Lundquist remains an ardent supporter of TLU and TLU Athletics. Through the annual fundraiser "Front Row with Verne Lundquist," Lundquist and TLU have raised more than $800,000 for TLU Athletics. Past honorees with Lundquist at "Front Row" have included Troy Aikman, Roger Staubach, Roger Clemens, Craig Biggio, Lance Berkman, Phil Garner, David Feherty, Scott Hamilton and 2015 honoree Gary Danielson.

Known throughout the sports broadcasting industry as the "Golden Throat," Lundquist has become an integral part of the sports broadcasting landscape during the past 50 years with his memorable calls and a colorful approach that has made him a fan favorite. Currently, Lundquist serves as the lead play-by-play announcer for CBS Sports' coverage of college football, a post he has held since 1998 alongside analyst Gary Danielson. Together, they have become the voices on CBS for SEC football.

The versatile Lundquist also handles announcing roles for CBS's coverage of college basketball, including the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship, the Masters, the PGA Championship, and other PGA TOUR events. During his first stint at CBS from 1983 to 1995, Lundquist called the NFL and NBA, and he was the network's lead figure skating announcer for the 1992, 1994 and 1998 Winter Olympics.

Prior to CBS, Lundquist spent eight years at ABC Sports and three years as a play-by-play announcer for TNT's coverage of the NFL, NBA, golf and figure skating from 1995 to 1997. In all, he has called 20 different sports, including track and field, swimming and diving, boxing, gymnastics and horse racing during his illustrious career.

Lundquist began his career at KTBC-TV in Austin before becoming the sports director at WFAA-TV in Dallas, where he also worked as the radio voice of the Dallas Cowboys for 16 seasons. Lundquist has been inducted into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame, the Texas Radio Hall of Fame and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. In 2011, he was given the Outstanding Contribution to College Football Award by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. Lundquist claimed seven consecutive Texas Sportscaster of the Year awards from 1977 to 1983 and was named a Legend of the Sun Bowl in 2005 by the Sun Bowl Association.

Lundquist and his wife Nancy live in Steamboat Springs, Colo.

Marketing Staff

Sarah Story
Vice President for Admissions & Marketing 

Ashlie Ford
Director of Marketing & Communications

Contact Us

Marketing & Communications
1000 W. Court St.
Seguin, Texas 78155

Maps & Directions

Filter By Topic



Atheltic News and Updates