School of Music Director Douglas R. Boyer Named a Piper Professor

May 01, 2014

News Image

Boyer is seventh TLU professor to receive honor

SEGUIN, TX – May 1, 2014 – The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation has named Texas Lutheran University School of Music Director Dr. Douglas R. Boyer one of its 2014 Piper Professor honorees. Boyer is one of 10 college professors in the state of Texas to be selected for superior teaching and having a profound influence on students at the university level.

“We are extremely proud that Doug is receiving this exceptional recognition,” said TLU President Dr. Stuart Dorsey. “For the past 13 years at TLU, Doug has brought his unique talents, passion for music and commitment to TLU students—both music majors and non-majors alike. He teaches, inspires and demands that his students reach their full potential.”

The nomination process also included letters of reference from former students. The letters described transformational experiences including one student’s letter that said, “This man and this class changed my life. Completely. No exaggeration whatsoever,” to another student who said, “Dr. Boyer has an unmatched way of shedding light on our own inner truths, desires, feelings and beauties. The strides that I have taken … that he has facilitated have been priceless. This class shall be one of my most cherished and valuable experiences at TLU because of the quality and genuine care that my instructor has given me.”

The prestigious honor includes a $5,000 award to each professor and Boyer is the seventh TLU professor to receive the honor. Previous TLU Piper Professors include: Professor of Christianity and Philosophy Adolph C. Streng (1961), Associate Professor of Education Helen Weiss (1968), Associate Professor of Science Evelyn Fiedler Streng (1977), Professor of Physical Education Kathy M. Yandell (1988), Professor of Theology Norman A. Beck (1992) and Professor of Economics Annette M. Citzler (1995).

To be eligible, candidates must be nominated through the President's Office of their university and participation is by invitation only.

About the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation
Founded in 1950 by Randall Gordon Piper and his wife, Minnie Stevens Piper, the foundation serves their dream of encouraging young minds and intellectual achievement. The Piper Professor Awards began in 1958 with eight recipients and the roster includes outstanding professors from two and four-year colleges and universities, public and private.

Marketing Staff

Sarah Story
Vice President for Marketing & Communications

Ashlie McEachern
Media Contact

Contact Us

Marketing & Communications
1000 W. Court St.
Seguin, Texas 78155

Filter By Topic


Atheltic News and Updates