O.G. Beck Society

In the mid-1930s, a conversation occurred between a successful businessman, Otto G. Beck and his brother-in-law, Pastor Nicholas Frueh, who was a member of the Texas Lutheran College Board of Regents. This short conversation resulted in the largest single gift ever received by Texas Lutheran University.

The gift was received more than 35 years later in 1969 in the form of a bequest which provided capital for the university administration building bearing his name, a maintenance endowment to care for the O.G. Beck Center, and a substantial endowment, the income of which is used for educational purposes of the university.

The O.G. Beck Society was formed in 1996 to recognize those friends and alumni of Texas Lutheran University who have included TLU in their estate plans. The current O.G. Beck Society members listed below will help Texas Lutheran University fulfill its mission to provide quality higher education in a community of faith for generations to come.

Current Members

Kent S. Abernathy
Michael and Kathy Aguirre
Tom and Nancy Ayres
James Baros
Bernard and Dot Baumbach
Joyce Baur
Earl and Lovie Beard
Judy and Bob Beglau
Nancy S. Berry
Fred Biery
Chris and Patricia Bischoff
Tim and Whitney Bischoff
Robert Blevins Jr.
Carla Blumberg
Rodney and Cora Nell Blumberg
Harold and Sherline Bogisch
Timothy Brady
Todd Braulick
Nancy L. Breland
Claudia and George Brookover
Dorothy Ann Brown
Michael Burris
Mary Jane and Buster Cage
Laura and Brett Carleton
Nancy and Frederick Carney
Betsy Clardy
Elaine Cordes  
Carol and Charles DeHaven
Don and Barbara Effenberger
Michael W. Ensrude
Ralph and Eleanor Erchinger
Stephanie and Rick Ertel
Walter and Joan Farrier
Ella Fetzer
Harold and Charlene Foerster
Mary Lee and Larry Franklin
Roxanne and Lester Frantzen
Michael A. Giesecke
Susan and Noel Giesecke
Calvin and Donna Goerdel
Greg Gunderson
Ruth Haas
Melvin and Hattie Hammer  
Jim Haueisen
Kathy Haueisen
Millie and Arlyn Hausmann
Roger and Dot Hemminghaus
Rolf K. Hermanson
Elizabeth Anne Hess
Della Mae Hicks
Donald R. Hormuth
Robbin Gene Huff
John and Joan Hunsicker
Gerald W. Johnson
Jo Johnson
Terrie and Myron Jordahl
Jennifer Jordan
Charles and Paula Kaplan
Angela and Kelly Kensing
Babs and Jeep Kiel
Marie W. Kleckley
Lily and Mark Knaier
Eleanor and Earl Koester
Kevin and Elizabeth Kolb 

Evelyn Kruse
Anne M. Kuempel
Weldon L. Kuretsch
Clarence and Lotte Lang
Lorraine and Richard Laut
Sara Nellermoe Lawrence
Jon R. and Stefani Lee
Carline Lehnhoff
Eric M. Lewis
Dawn Lindsey
Thomas and Suzanne Loessin
Nellie Luckenbach
Rebecca and Paul Marsh
Chris Matthy
Suki and Macy Meyer
Elizabeth Mohr
Sandra and Jon Moline
Lee and Karen Mueller
Andrew Nelson
Gail Norris
Charles and Rhoda Oestreich
Nathan Oestreich
Lenora E. Ohlenbusch
George and Dorothy Schuette Ohlendorf
Dan Ortman
Mary Kay and Pete Pederson
Steven and Courtney Peeler
Claudette Pfennig   
Ralph D. and Lois Pfluger
Steve Rode
Wayne Rohne
Evelyn and Clarence Rose
Melvin and Helen Rose
Mike J. Sagebiel
Erline and Allan Sager
John and Joni Sager
Mary and Will Sauermilch
Geneva Schwartz
Charlotte W. Smith
Florence Smith
George Start
Anna and David Stock
Carl and Emely Sundbeck, Jr.
Shane Swanson
Barbara Treptow
Marilyn Treptow 
Carolyn S. Turner
LaVerne Turner
Michael Veit
Gene Vivroux
Karen R. Vogel
Marie P. Vogel
Lillian L. Wacker-Hageman  
Deborah and Brian Walenta
Stephen and Elizabeth Wendel
Ruby Wiesner
Betty and Tom Wilkens
Daesene Y. Willmann
Stella and Kirby Woehst
Kathy M. Yandell
Fernando Yarrito
Beth Zies
Samuel D. Zumwalt
Vernon Zunker