Filter By Topic

Archives

Campus Bids Farewell To Emma Frey Hall

July 17, 2017

blog

As demolition begins on Emma Frey Hall, a recent decommissioning ceremony honored the iconic structure and those who worked or lived in it throughout the years. Built in 1929, the building was renamed in 1947 after Professor Emma Frey. It served as a women's and men's dorm before becoming home to classrooms and faculty offices for various departments. Professor Frey served as "Girls Matron" (Dean of Women) and a faculty member in the English, math, and history departments from 1912 to 1922. Following her tenure at TLU (named Lutheran College of Seguin, Texas at that time), she spent the rest of her career teaching in San Antonio's Edgewood ISD. An elementary school in the district is named in her honor.  

“After almost 90 years of service, Emma Frey Hall had substantial deferred maintenance and the building’s use would be limited without an extensive and very costly renovation,” said TLU Vice President of Finance and Administration Andrew Nelson. “While it’s difficult to part with such a long-standing fixture of the campus, a cost-benefit analysis brought TLU to the conclusion that future new construction would be a better long-term investment in the university’s physical assets than a renovation. Other existing space on campus is being utilized in place of Emma Frey for the immediate future.“

A crowd gathers at the decommissioning ceremony on July 14, 2017.

Emma Frey Hall in 1938.

Female students pose in front of the dorm in 1943.

Inside look at a dorm room in 1945.

A portrait of Emma Frey sits at the building's main entrance during the decommissioning ceremony. 

A handful of former faculty and staff who worked in Emma Frey throughout the years.